What Big Eyes You Have

I like photography, its probably one of my favorite things, I love taking pictures of people. Candid and posed. I’m more a fan of the posed than the candid shots. Photography is an art, just because it’s mostly commercial a lot of time doesn’t make it any less art than being a journalist makes you less of a writer.

My posed shots combine both more traditional portraits, to non traditional portraits, to what I’m moving onto now. I’m going to take fairy tales–all the ones I can find that are worth it–and I’m starting with “Little Red Riding Hood”. Which means I’m researching it. If you’re easily offended by somewhat sexual images, I suggest that you refrain from googling “Little Red Riding Hood” and clicking images. According to the French version of the story (which is undoubtedly the weirdest one) the wolf has the little girl remove all her clothes, put them on the fire and then lay in bed with him.

By the by, this is also after the wolf has killed her grandmother and tricked the girl into eating her flesh and drinking her blood like wine.

I used this website
http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/type0333.html#millien
to read all the versions of the story.

I think when people research these they get a little too hung up on the aspect of the girls sexuality. Especially since it’s only mentioned in the french version as far as I could find. The French version does have something in common with some of the other versions though, which is the mode of Little Red’s escape.

In the Grimms’ version–which is undoubtedly the more popular–the grandmother and little red are eaten and rescued by a woodcutter. That’s the more popular idea, but, in comparison to the little girl tricking the wolf, I like it a lot less. In the version where the wood cutter comes in and kills the animal that’s a show of how brute force can win against an adversary. In my opinion, that’s something I think everyone already knows, it doesn’t need to be illustrated for us. Little Red using cleverness to outsmart  the beast gives those of us who aren’t capable of defeating whatever adversary we find ourselves facing a sort of new approach to dealing with our problems.

As far as my problem, as of what to try to embody in my photo-shoot about the little girl who escapes the wolf, I think I’m going to opt with a combination of showing her naivety and at the same time her cleverness. Sometimes Photography is like writing a story, you have to know what the content of your story/photo is before you can show it.

3 thoughts on “What Big Eyes You Have

  1. emmathers says:

    It speaks in a very feminist matter that a young girl is able to trick a grand, old wolf, however naive she is. I still am iffy about the grandma always managing to live. I don’t doubt the French version, their stories are pretty sadistic, but I sort of wish you had brought up several interpretations for each version. Mainly because this story is probably older than the Grimm Brothers (very likely) and that the message it tried to portray has changed throughout the centuries.

  2. haleyms says:

    Actually, it’s only in the Grimm’s version that she survives, the other two versions that weren’t French, and aside from the one that turned the Grandmother and Red into witches who ate the wolf, the ones on that particular website–and a few others–followed the same pattern but both Grandmother and Red die. It sticks with the cautionary “Don’t talk to strangers!” theme, and I didn’t think required expanding on. However, now I’m curious, I’ll probably expand on all this a little later after I do some more research about this now.

Leave a Reply

