Opening my mouth: life as an introvert

Hi, you know me, I’m Haley. This may or may not be a surprise to you, but I’m an introvert!

 

I’ve taken several versions of the personality test based on Carl Jung, the most in depth one I have taken four or five times. Every time I get the same answer: I am an INFJ. What those letters stand for, I have no idea.

I fall into the “idealist” category, and as an idealist I’m also a counselor.

Counselors like to help people, we are good at solitary jobs, but we really like to help people. We actually enjoy dealing with people, so long as it’s not superficial.

“Counselors are scarce, little more than three percent of the population, and can be hard to get to know, since they tend not to share their innermost thoughts or their powerful emotional reactions except with their loved ones. They are highly private people, with an unusually rich, complicated inner life. Friends or colleagues who have known them for years may find sides emerging which come as a surprise. Not that Counselors are flighty or scattered; they value their integrity a great deal, but they have mysterious, intricately woven personalities which sometimes puzzle even them.” (http://keirsey.com/4temps/counselor.asp)

Anyone who knows me, knows this is pretty much it, except that I don’t share my innermost thoughts with the small handful of people nearest to me, just the ring around it and outward from there.

 

Counselors are also really imaginative, we’re good with words verbal and written. We’re still introverts though, so it’s all on a pretty personal level.

So I’m like Gandhi, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jane Goodall and Emily Bronte!

And I’m like the Jedi. (I’m really pleased by this)

Because I’m the way I am, people sometimes perceive me as being a jerk. I hope it’s not often because another section of my personality is that I want to help *everyone*.

Not even kidding, if I know how to help someone I’d go as far as I could to help them. I’ve also got kind of the man mentality–from my last post–and I like to “kill” problems and move on. So this doesn’t really help my “I’m not a jerk” case, because when women are having these conversations with men, that’s generally the way we perceive people with that “kill the problem” attitude.

But anyways!

I’m 89% introverted, 50% intuitive, 12% feeling, and 39% judging.

I wouldn’t ever condone anyone to be as introverted as I am. It’s not really a choice, but in my opinion once you get past like 70% introverted, you really need to be careful. For me having a conversation with people I don’t really know is a trial. One of my classes is a discussion class and I really don’t know anyone in it that well. It’s an interesting subject–we’re talking about culture in the Renaissance and the book “Things Fall Apart” by Chinua Achebe–and talking in that class is almost painful for me because it’s just so against my nature. I’m aware of this and a huge advocate of self-awareness so I encourage everyone to take the test.

http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes2.asp

I got just about all the info off of the page that I cited up there next to the quote. If I didn’t directly quote it, or if you can’t find the information on the page, I deduced it (which is fancy language for decided it applied to me so had to be in some way correct).

Feel more than free to post your results in the comments! I love to know what the rest of the world is like

One thought on “Opening my mouth: life as an introvert

Leave a Reply

