January in retrospect

January was a good month for me! I made 4 different kinds of cupcakes, and I’m already seeing improvement in my baking with them. I went on a photo-shoot, cleaned my room, drew a picture and dyed my hair strawberry blonde.

The month, and the year started with a Masquerade that I with the help of my friends Jackie and Hannah planned, and with the help of a few more people got set up. I was really worried the night before we set up, I mean, really worried. I almost canceled it or dropped it on someone else last minute like a jerk to handle it. My mom wanted me to cancel it. But for a multitude of reasons (I really wanted there to be one, I had agreed to do it so I felt obliged, and I really wanted it to be awesome so I could show whoever was doubting me at this point) I didn’t cancel it.

I won. It was great, everyone had a blast, and the real marker, just about everyone who came helped clean up. It took us less than forty minutes to get everything back where it belonged, and we moved just about everything in the room.

I read eight and a half books this month, not counting the ones I listened to. Which I will eventually put reviews for on, turns out they were both James Patterson books.

So, I’m not really a “go to the movies” person. In my head I am, in my head I go see new movies in theaters all the time, but the reality is I don’t. That’s going to change this year too! I have to go see at least one movie in theaters a month. This month I saw “One for the Money” in theaters.

I’m big into scrapbooking, particularly digital. When I get my nieces completely finished I’ll post the pages up here for you to see. I work with a gal Sheri Caulkins, who’s a creative memories consultant. I went with her this month to a digital scrapbooking retreat. We stayed in a swanky hotel in Novi, I learned a lot and had a great time with the ladies that Sheri sat me next to. She put me next to Betsie and Sarah, who are both a bit older and sometimes have computer trouble and love me a lot because I’m helpful.

A few friends and I crashed a soiree at the college. No, not a “college party”, it was a charity event for Kids Against Hunger. That was a blast. I love formal events. Formal events that involve swing dancing, woot! My friend Ari and I really need to do something together, but carving a chunk of time out of my schedule is becoming increasingly difficult!

I bought two books and a cd! So long and thanks for all the fish, by Douglas Adams. That’s going to help me fill out that set, since now I have that and Restaurant at the end of the universe. And I ordered “Bed of Roses” by Nora Roberts off of Amazon. That’s the second in the Bride Quartet series, which I’m in love with. The CD I ordered was “Even if it kills me” by Motion City Soundtrack. My favorite album by one of my favorite bands. I need to own it.

The drawing I did is a picture of a tiger lily that we had from my grandmother’s funeral. When I took the picture of it, the light was really intense and made the colors really vibrant without any editing. It’s my favorite flower picture I’ve ever taken. I drew it–and consider it noteworthy–because while I’m pretty good at drawing inorganic things (chairs, tables, scissors, cameras, things like that) I’m not very good at organic things. Whether its from a picture or not, it never looks right and the pieces I see never match up with the pieces I draw. This one did, and I’m proud of that!

I also took pictures for a friend’s band “Below Sub-Zero” as they played at the roller rink.

This month however, I have to do something a little more demanding than a drawing. I’m thinking…watercolor. Watercolor what? I don’t know that yet.

Hair and Mascara are amazing things; you can change an outfit by doing your hair differently, and you can cover up any insecurities with mascara.

If you go back through my old blog posts you’ll find my movie review, my book reviews, recipes on the cupcakes, and the top 5 pictures out of the photo-shoot. Click off and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

