Books twenty four, twenty five, and twenty six

After Reading “Love In a Nutshell” I read 3 books in rather quick succession

Book 24: The Great Gatsby

To be perfectly frank, I feel like I didn’t understand a lot of this book. I mean I got what the words said and a base of their context. But I had to look it up on Sparknotes and Shmoop after to make sure I got the gist of the point right. I got the gist, but if there’s anything more profound to it–like I’m always suspecting there to be–I didn’t get it. And it bums me out. The story is captivating though, and it wasn’t that hard to read. I enjoyed it, and I’m looking forward to seeing the movie when it comes out.

 

Book 25: Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

This book I picked up on a lark at the library, something light, fluffy, something I can read while I’m on the stationary bike at the gym for the 15-45 minutes. I stayed up until 3 in the morning when I finished it. It was hysterical.

Take…The Guardian (That really cheesy movie with Whitney Houston and Kevin Cosner) pair it with “Chasing Liberty” (The one where Mandy Moore takes off for her freedom from her oppressive President Dad), add in some Roman Holiday (With Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck), give it a crazy family, including a gay brother and his prone to fainting lover, drunken uncle who’s in debt with some gamblers…

Throw in some corn chips, some corn dogs, some corn bread, some good old fashioned cheesy, corney goodness, and you’ve got a book worth the 4 hours it takes to read!

 

Book Twenty Six: The Cinderella Deal

More like “anti-cinderella deal”! HA! But I really enjoyed reading tis book. It had one of those far out plots that can only be found in really creative literature. The two main characters literally couldn’t be more different. She, is very upbeat and lively and colorful…she’s the crazy hippy. While he is very stuffy, and business like. A professor.

Well, after a lie in an interview, this anti-prince needs a fiancé fast.

And then, he needs a wife.

And then….and then they run into a lot of personality differences, but their plan starts working for the the best for everyone. Except for it’s turning her into a dull drone like her husband. Who, to his credit, realizes what he loves about her isn’t the way she’s turning into. So, he turns her back. And it’s cute. Not fabulous, but it’s cute.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Books twenty four, twenty five, and twenty six

  1. jaxibella says:

    The Great Gatsby is definitely one of my favorite books EVER. If you want I can send you notes on it – I decoded it for class last semester, and focused a lot on the characters and their deeper meanings.

    It was mostly a huge commentary on how Fitzgerald saw the 20’s – corrupt – and how he believed the “American dream” was dying in this corruption.

  2. jaxibella says:

    (P.S. The Great Gatsby is definitely worth a second and maybe a third read. I got a lot more out of it the second time than I did the first time. I do that a lot with Fitzgerald – remember his short story, Absolution? I read that so many times.)

Leave a Reply

