Nanowrimo

Ah, October. The month before NaNoWriMo.

For those who follow my blog, but mostly for the potato recipes (I’m so sorry I’m behind in these, I will be picking it back up again soon! I swear!), and don’t really pay attention to my other nonsense, NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. nanowrimo.org In the space of one month your goal is to write the first draft of a novel of at least 50,000 words within the single month of November. This averages out to 1,667 words a day. About 69 words an hour.

This year, I’m going to win. I’m going to write 50,000 words in 30 days and walk away with the first draft of a story that has haunted me since I was 8. You’ll be getting a lot of updates from me about this. Hopefully I’ll find some time to post pie recipes and new potato recipes.

I haven’t attempted NaNo in several years, I got discouraged during high school and I really backed off everything but short stories after my sophomore year. Well, a strange benefit to maturing the way I am, I recognized that I missed writing.

So, I have 2 projects going! There’s the fantasy novel I started when I was in the 7th grade, (I’m now closing plot holes and using a much more sophisticated language) I’m putting that down through NaNoWriMo, and while the Haunted Library (working title) is resting up from its stint, I’m going to finish that. Then put the fantasy novel down and let that rest while I do the editing and re-write for the Haunted Library and so on and so forth until I’m satisfied. After November the short stories get busted back out and I’ll work on those in the same way, although much smaller

Leave a Reply

