Getting Dad’s to Smile in Photos

It’s something I don’t understand. My dad does it, put a part of his family in his hands and he smiles…and you know what it reaches ALL the way to his eyes!

Dear men (specifically Dads) everywhere:
WHY DON’T YOU LIKE SMILING IN PHOTOS?!

WHYYYYYY?!?!?!

It makes me want to crawl on the floor and pound my fist against the ground crying out in agony about this.

Smiling > Straight Face

After consulting my dad about it, he says its probably an evolutionary thing. Look mean, keep the wolves at bay. Which makes sense. I suppose. But then again, I’m taking your picture, not your wallet or YOUR SOUL. Relax. You’re going to look back at these photos some day and you know what the memory is going to be (for you and your child)?

“You really didn’t want to be there.”

As the photographer in the situation, it is really discouraging. I really like my photo-shoots, especially with children, to be fun. To be small little adventures for your kid. You sitting there, scowling, really kind of kills that mood. And by “really kind of” I mean 100% you’re killing it. You’re killing my ability to make this a fun experience for your kid.

So, smile, loosen up. You’re doing something special with your child, enjoy it. These things won’t be exciting for them forever. They won’t be small and cute forever.

And another thing, what about when you DIE, do you want all of your photos played at your funeral to be of some grumpy looking guy? Seriously? I don’t know about you, but I’d rather be remembered by happiness. Life is best measured in smiles, and when you catch a smile on camera, it counts extra.

Trust me, the picture will come out so much better if you just relax and smile. Not every picture is a throwback to the 1800s when you had to sit there for 10 minutes and a straight face was more practical. Now it just looks way too formal and un-appealing.

Leave a Reply

