Best Ever Banana Bread

It definitely is.

Ingredients:

-1-1,3 cups mashed very ripe bananas. Like, black bananas. They’re pretty much pre-mashed at that point.
-1/4 cup milk, 1%, 2%, whole, lactaid, soy, whatever man, so long as it tastes like milk.
-3 tablespoons vegetable oil. Don’t substitute…just don’t. It’s vegetable oil, not apple sauce or anything fancy.
-1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. You could probably use vanilla beans, but extract blends better here
-3 eggs, preferably of the Large variety
-2-2/3 cups original Bisquick, big yellow box
Optional: 1/2 cup nuts. The food…not *ahem* nevermind…

 

Preheat your oven to 350F or 175C

Mix together everything but the Bisquick and the nuts (should you choose to add nuts. I didn’t. I think Walnuts are the best, but my mom thinks Pecans are the best. I think Pecans are best spiced. At any rate, they were frozen solid and half pecans so way too big for banana bread. You really should add nuts though, it gives it a great extra texture. Or don’t…I’m a blogger, not a cop.). You can use a mixer, or a spoon, a rubber spatula and a potato masher! I love using the potato masher and rubber spatula. The masher makes sure all the banana is mashed into the pastey goo that it needs to be. Because, let’s face it, nobody *actually* is going to mash the banana’s up and then mix in the Bisquick.

Pour it into a greased 9X5X3 pan. (9 long, 5 wide, 3 deep. But in the scheme of things, it could be 9 deep, 5 long and 3 wide and it would only just make it harder to get out. This way has proven to be the easiest…at least I’ll assume so since that’s how pans are sold almost universally)

Then you bake it for about 50 minutes, at about 40 though I’d take a toothpick and check it. If it comes out clean, it’s ready.

Let it cool in the pan until you can touch the pan, then dump it out and let the bread cool enough so you can eat it. I love to eat it with a scoop of strawberry anything. Strawberry compote butter, jam, or even ice cream if I’m making a thing of it.

I got this recipe from my mom. Who cooked for 30 years and swears this is the best recipe. I’m inclined to agree. I’ve made this bread a dozen times and it always rises perfectly and is super moist. It stays moist even when you add nuts and when you don’t it’s not SO moist it just loses all structural integrity and falls apart. It’s the Bisquick that does it. Bisquick is magic. One of these days I’ll start up a Bisquick challenge and come up with 101 some ways to use Bisquick…Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about my Potato challenge!

Go forth and make this banana bread, and then be sure to hurry back here and tell me how you love it!

Leave a Reply

