My Family’s Favorite Meatloaf

One of my favorite things to cook, one of my least favorite things to eat. I’m not a fan of ground beef in just about any form. Don’t get me wrong, I love beef. Steaks, stews, roasts, it’s all great. But for some reason, when it gets ground up, it leaves me feeling icky.

Normally I’d opt for ground Turkey, but I was making this for the boys so I pulled a thing of beef out of the freezer.

The first thing you need is a mirepoix.

To save you the trouble of looking up what a mirepoix is if you don’t already know–Thank you cooking channel for never actually explaining what it is to me–it’s sauteed carrots, celery, and onion. 

You need to do this first because they need to cool before you add it to the meatloaf mixture. Unless you’re me, who tends to keep just a handful of this in the fridge at all times, not even on purpose.

After it’s cooled, you put that, a box of corn-muffin mix (instead of crackers or breadcrumbs), two eggs, a generous helping of ketchup, an equal amount of barbeque sauce, a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce, some fresh ground ginger, some chopped garlic, a generous helping of salt, pepper, and a touch of Cayanne. Then for one meatloaf, put in one pound of ground beef and combine until everything is thoroughly mixed together.

Now take your loaf pan and line it with tinfoil. You’ll still have to wash the pan, but at least you won’t have to let it soak, or scrub it, or worry about damaging the finish if it’s non-stick. And, when it’s time to serve, you just lift the tinfoil up and put it on the serving plate.

Serve it with mashed potatoes, green beans, and some gravy. I can’t promise that it’s “healthy”, how can you make “healthy” meatloaf? But I can promise that it is definitely flavorful, and definitely going to be a crowd pleaser or great leftovers.

Cook responsibly and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

