Adventures in Vegan baking

No, I’m not vegan. Spend a few minutes on this blog and you will quickly discover how vegan I am not. I love meat. All kinds of meat. My favorite is cow meat. (And cows are my favorite of the traditional meat animals. Cows are cute. Pigs, chickens, and turkeys are creatures out of my nightmares)

But I’ve become bored with baking, and trying to blog excitedly about baking. Everybody bakes it seems. There are also a lot of vegan baking and cooking blogs, but at least it’s different and a challenge for me.

Tonight was accidentally the beginning of this escapade.

Weeks ago I promised Noah peach cobbler and pineapple upside down cake. And for weeks a can of peaches and a can of pineapples have been sitting on our shelves. So tonight, I decided to do something about it.

I got some hardened brown sugar from my mom (it was the only kind she’d part with) and after I went through the torturous process of softening and breaking it apart.

I drained the juice out of the peaches into a bowl, added about two cups of bisquick, (which is just a naturally normal vegan product. I googled it and was really surprised.) and about a third of a cup of brown sugar and stirred it all together. I added some pumpkin pie spice.

Then I took the peaches and dumped them into a rather small but deep baking dish. Drained the pineapple juices into a cup (Noah likes to drink it) and dumped the pineapple into another small but deep baking dish.

That is when I did something a little different. I added about a teaspoon of salt to each dish of fruit, stirred it around, and smooshed them down as much as possible.

Split the topping mixture between the two dishes, and top them with more brown sugar, and some oats if you are into that sorta thing.

Bake at about 350, and it’s really going to vary depending on the density of the batter, and the depth of it.

 

This is a great last minute throw-together dessert. If you’re baking vegan on purpose top with some coconut whipped cream (a can of full fat coconut milk and powdered sugar whipped together) and if you’re not baking vegan on purpose, do coconut whipped cream or regular whipped cream! It’s delicious either way.

Leave a Reply

