Angel Food Cake

It’s been a while since I’ve shared a new recipe with you guys. I was preparing to share my adventures in gnocchi, buttttt long story short
no go on the homemade gnocchi bro. I’ve got quite a bit of altering to do on that recipe before I’ll be able to share it with you.

Anyways.

It was my friend Josh’s birthday yesterday and as Josh is one of our best friend’s in the world we threw together a day of shenanigans.  All of which were custom tailored to what we knew were his favorite things, and the one thing he requested for dinner.

To make it extra special, instead of buying an Angel Food Cake (his favorite cake ever) which would’ve I’ll admit have been the SMART thing to do…I decided to make one.

I’m now a pro egg separator, and it will probably be a long time before I buy one of these guys again. Once you taste a homemade one of these guys…there’s no going back.

  • 1cup cake flour
  • 34cup sugar
  • 2tablespoons sugar
  • 12large egg whites, MUST be room temperature
  • 1 12teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 14teaspoon salt
  • 34cup sugar
  • 1 12teaspoons vanilla
  • 12teaspoon almond extract

Ok, straight up, I didn’t have cake flour or almond extract.

To substitute All Purpose Flour for cake flour it’s 2tablespoons of cornstarch in the bottom of a one cup measuring cup, and then level off the flour on top of that. If you’d doing more than one cup of flour it’s a  14   cup for every two cups of flour.

I replaced the almond extract with imitation raspberry, if you have nothing else it’s okay to leave it out, it just won’t have that amazing depth of flavor the second flavor will give it.

 

 

  1. DO NOT GREASE PAN.
  2. Heat oven to 375°.
  3. Sift the cake flour and 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp sugar; set aside.
  4. Combine the extracts in a small bowl; set aside.
  5. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar and salt until it forms peaks. Once it starts to stand up on the whisk is fine. Don’t. Don’t. Don’t try to do this by hand unless you’re a certified beast…and if you do show me your certification.
  6. Add the other 3/4 cup of sugar slowly, then beat on high until stiff peaks form. This takes longer than you’d think, it’s probably safe to go pee during this part.
  7. Beating on LOW, add flour mixture and extracts slowly. I did this by hand and it took forever, but I think it was worth it because Angel Food Cake is really delicate. There’s no leavening agent so if you damage and accidentally deflate the egg whites…oooh boy you’re doomed.
  8. Move a knife through batter to remove air pockets.
  9. Bake 30-35 minutes or until top springs back when touched lightly with finger.
  10. Invert pan onto a tin funnel to cool completely. I propped mine up on a bottle of hot sauce. The lid fit perfectly in the little hole and kept it balanced while I let it cool overnight. You want to
  11. To remove the cake from your pan run a knife around the rim of the cake pan just to get the ‘crust’ away from the pan. Then pull the detachable middle part out and run a knife along the bottom so as to disconnect it from that. BE INCREDIBLY CAREFUL MINE BROKE APART. (Into three neat pieces that nobody noticed but it was still insulting to me.)

We topped it with a peach and pear compote my fiance made, and a homemade whipped cream I made. It was glorious.

Give this re

Leave a Reply

