Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love to bake. I love to do lots of things, but I really love to bake.

My favorite recipe is my chocolate chip cookies. I don’t even bother looking at a recipe card anymore. I just dance around my kitchen singing along to my spotify and whip up a batch in maybe 7 minutes. I haven’t timed myself, but I’m betting on under seven minutes.

3/4 cups of brown and white sugar, 2 sticks of butter, 3 eggs, salt, vanilla, baking soda, 3 cups flour, 2 cups chocolate chips.

Pretty standard stuff.

BUT

I bake with my niece a lot. She’s going to be five in a few weeks, and likes to help me. So that basically means every time she’s over here we are expected to bake.

So, I’m looking to make healthier choices in what we’re baking together.

And I’ve become fascinated with the avocado. It’s incredibly good for you, plant fats (which I hear are great?) like in the avocado tote all kinds of good vitamins and minerals that I could use a lot more of.

It’s also cheaper than butter. A pound of avocado costs about 77 cents at the grocery store, and a pound of butter costs about 4 dollars.

So, for my delicious avocado chocolate chip cookies (which don’t taste at all like avocado.) take the recipe listed above but instead of using two sticks of butter, use one stick of butter and half an avocado.

If you’re more adventurous than I was try replacing all the butter with avocado. Once I run out of these cookies I’m going to try replacing all the butter with the pretty green stuff. So if you’ve done it, please let me know!

I’m excited to find all kinds of delicious substitutions that make baked goods both healthier and preferably cheaper!

Leave a Reply

