“Katie’s Chocolate Cake”

If you’re looking for a great stand-by chocolate cake, look no further than this.

The first time I ever made this cake it was for a new friend named Katie. She runs the comic book shop in town with her husband, and they were hosting a movie night, the same night as her birthday. Naturally, I was appalled at the idea of a birthday without a cake. So, I took it upon myself to rectify the situation. I’m sure it would’ve been just as well received if I I’d simply gone to the bakery or made a box mix. But, as I am myself, that would not satisfy.

So I made it first for her and her husband, though for once, I left myself time to tweak and adjust the recipe before sharing it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are from my niece’s birthday. I found a great teddy bear shaped cake pan at a second hand shop, and after a good bleaching and rinse in the dishwasher, it was perfect.

The first time I made the cake it seemed a bit thin in a 10 inch pain, so much so that I made an entire nother batch for the second layer. For this cake, I doubled it. That’s something I almost regret. I had enough to make the birthday cake and wonderful mini bunt cakes. So maybe I don’t regret it.

The third time I made the cake, I used the un-doubled version in 2 9 inch pans and it turned out wonderful. I’m sure I could half over it again and get a three layer cake. But if you’re going to do that, why not just go the distance and make a four layer cake? I believe in you, let’s make this happen.

Are you ready for the recipe? Here goes:

3/4 C butter (one and a half sticks)
1 and 2/3 C sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 and 1/4 tsp baking soda (do not skimp and go with just a teaspoon, it’s crucial.)
1 tsp salt
2C flour
1 and 1/3 cup water

 

Cream the butter and sugar together, add the eggs and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Flour, Baking soda, salt

Then, with the mixer on low alternate adding the water and the flour mixture until it’s all combined and to a smooth not-lumpy consistency.

Pour into a cake pan and bake at 350F for about 25-30 minutes, though I’d check it at about 20 and be aware that flexibility is a good thing.

I’ve served this with a whipped cream topping (though it was more like a chocolate milk topping lol), a regular canned frosting, and a buttercream. Each has drastically changed the cake and made it wholly unique. I figure I’ve got three or four more makes of this cake and I’ll be beyond needing the recipe. I’ll have this one as close to my heart as my chocolate chip cookies.

Leave a Reply

