Throwback Photographs

This is without a doubt, one of my favorite photos ever taken. It is just a bowl of grapes, and an abandoned pack of cigarettes and a festive lighter left behind my my mother.

This is one of the first pictures I ever took with a camera that was genuinely mine. It was a Nikon Coolpix, though the exact model I can’t remember. It was stolen a long time ago.

It’s not the best picture ever taken. It’s probably not the best picture I’ve ever taken. But I took it, and seven years later I still love it.

I took it on a Christmas afternoon, after we’d opened presents, had our brunch, and I’d already discarded the manual in favor of just pushing every single button. (Some technical knowledge would probably be beneficial to me still, my camera has gotten a lot more complicated since then, and I haven’t even pressed half the buttons.)

I snapped the photo and was blown away by the quality. This was *hot stuff* for me. And I mean, I was probably twelve. This was one of the first images that drew me deeper and deeper into the photography hole.

And I just like sharing that.

Leave a Reply

