Pirate Ship Cake

14900435_10154724142909407_7230632990704799709_n

So I made a thing.

I rarely do anything by degrees, especially baking. My nephew just turned three, and part of my gift to him (Aside from the Batman action figure and the giant box of Playdough) was a pirate ship cake.

I nearly quit twice.

The cakes were from scratch https://rattledup.wordpress.com/2016/03/10/katies-chocolate-cake/

and while it only took two 9X13 cakes to make, I ended up having to make three.

Mostly because the second one turned out HORRIBLY. Awful. IT was an abomination, not worthy of the term “baked good”. Somehow the cake turned into jello in the oven.

We’ve got three theories as to why that happened.

  1. all the milk accidentally got added at once, because I noted how that messed with the texture of the batter.
  2. I may not have scraped the bowl adequately enough.
  3. There was a casserole in the oven at the same time and it probably didn’t bake evenly.

It was gross. I made everyone try it, and everyone who put it in their mouths spit it back out and shivered because of how wrong it was.

Then I almost quit again when the third cake broke while I was trying to get it out of the pan. I almost cried.

I marched into the livingroom, picked up the phone and when Noah asked what was wrong I said, “It broke. I quit. I’m telling Anna it’s a 2D cake.”

He stood up, took the phone from me, and together we got the cake out of the pan. It was broken, but he stood by and started being my cheerleader while I cut and arranged the pieces together.

I cut them both about 6″ wide lengthwise. (So then I had 2 6X13s) and stacked them on top of each other, then I cut the remaining chunks into 6X3s and stacked two in the back, one in front of that, and one in the very front.)

I used a store bought frosting for the glue, and once it was all put together, I slid it in the fridge for an hour so it’d hold together while I carved. Which was pretty much cutting the front into a point.

I found the Jolly Roger from an image on Wikicommons that worked, and just taped it to a chopstick.

Then I frosted, and we took the cake over to the party. My sister ad got a bunch of candies and I just went nuts. I put a little frosting on the base so the sprinkles would stick, lined the base with the gummy sharks, and had a lot of fun with it.

When my nephew blew out his candles and realized he couldn’t have the WHOLE THING he was very upset. At least until he got to eat all the gummy sharks with his cake.

For all the headache, I’m really glad I did this one. It was my first ever 3D cake, and it’s really pushed the limits for what I think I can do now. I can’t wait for my niece’s and my son’s birthdays to see what I come up with for them!

Leave a Reply

